Keynote speech at First Annual Ringo Awards

This was not only the first time Comic POW! covered the awards at Baltimore Comic-Con, it’s also the inaugural year of the Ringo Awards. There was a GREAT keynote speech by David Peterson of Mouse Guard. It was also the first time I was able to see Daryl McDaniels of Run DMC in person. If you attend Baltimore Comic-Con I highly recommend getting tickets to the award show. It’s nice and intimate, with dinner being served just prior to the awards.

Fan Favorites:
  • Favorite Hero: Cash Wayne (Spectrum)
  • Favorite Villain: Arlo (unOrdinary)
  • Favorite New Series: Spectrum
  • Favorite New Talent: InstantMiso
Jury and Fan Winners:
  • Best Cover Artist: Frank Cho
  • Best Series: Vision, Marvel Comics
  • Best Letterer: Todd Klein
  • Best Colorist: Laura Martin
  • Best Humor Comic: I Hate Fairyland, Image Comics
  • Best Original Graphic Novel: March: Book III, Top Shelf Productions
  • Best Comic Strip or Panel: Bloom County, Berkeley Breathed, Universal Uclick
  • Best Single Issue or Story: Emancipation Day,
  • Mike Wieringo Spirit Award: Future Quest #1, DC Comics
  • Best Anthology: Love is Love, DC Comics/IDW Publishing
  • Best Non-fiction Comic Work: March: Book Three, Top Shelf Productions
  • Best Presentation in Design: Mike Mignola’s Screw-On Head and Other Curious Objects: Artist’s Edition Hardcover, IDW Publishing
  • Best Webcomic: The Red Hook, Dean Haspiel
  • Best Inker: Sean Murphy
  • Best Writer: Tom King
  • Best Artist or Penciller: Fiona Staples
  • Best Cartoonist (Writer/Artist): Skottie Young
Hero Initiative Awards:
  • Dick Giordano Humanitarian of the Year Award: Joshua Dysart
  • Hero Initiative Lifetime Achievement Award: Marv Wolfman

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.